The Action Comics Weekly Podcast – Episode #603

Welcome to the THIRD episode of the Action Comics Weekly Podcast! Re-joining Host Chad Bokelman are guest hosts Mark Marble, Jay Jones, Ben Avery, Michael Bailey, Doug Zawisa, and Alan Middleton.

CHARACTERS THIS EPISODE: Green Lantern – Wild Dog – Secret Six – Superman – Deadman – Blackhawk

Listen in for straight to the point reviews of the third issues worth of stories from the Action Comics Weekly series itself!

Follow the show on Facebook!

Leave a comment HERE on the website!

Leave a review for the show on iTunes and Stitcher Radio!

Download the Episode HERE!

6 thoughts on “The Action Comics Weekly Podcast – Episode #603

  1. I think I just remembered that Oprah Winfrey showed up in the pages of Action Comics Weekly. Could be a false memory, but maybe not. Fingers crossed. I think Hal was her guest and he got laughed out of the studio. Looking forward to that.

    Can we quit dog-piling on Wild Dog? I mean, I’m as guilty as the next guy, but enough already. Let’s hope that by Episode 604 at least SOMEONE will have SOMETHING positive to say about the poor guy. His original mini-series was not without merit, and neither are his ACW appearances. I mean, I stand by my original statement: “He’s just there. He just exists.” But, he USED to be something really cool. If only someone would talk about it in podcast form.

    Like

      1. Now now Chad, when I volunteered for Dogkiller Dee, I wasn’t talking Wild Dog. You can’t make me!

        And McGurk relates to the first ever Mr Mxyzptlk story. Worth a look!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. First, great job, Chad & Guests, you’ve got 3 very enjoyable listens here, so far!

      Second, lessee, something positive about Wild Dog . . .

      WD- especially his outfit & the great original mini-series’ house ad – really captured my imagination as a kid. Back then, a look was all that was really necessary to sell me on a concept. I really thought WD’s look was quite awesome, but this was way before I was able to negotiate a monthly release schedule, much less master the art of collecting a fleeting 4 issue mini series. My fascination stuck with me for years, however, and I was finally able to complete my collection in adulthood (Lobo #62 was the hardest to find); it *pretty much* met my 25 year old expectations. I really dig the work of Collins/Beatty – but understand how the really quite ‘unflashy’ art of Beatty may not be for all tastes.

      I’m a big Ms. Tree fan – but understand Collins’ & Beatty’s inclination to get some some mainstream work. I don’t mean to imply that their heart wasn’t in Wild Dog, but I can imagine that the $$ from their DC ‘gig’ allowed them to focus & produce the work that they *really* wanted to make for independent publishers.

      BTW, Jason, I’m expecting sometime in the next few episodes of ACW a born-again-type revelation on your part regarding your affection for the character, as I’m commenting 2 days away from the 1st episode of Wild Pod (looking forward to it!)

      Great work, men!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Yes, Oprah showed up in GL – that was the first time I’d come across her. Who knew she was real?

    I’m amazed you boys feel this story could have come out of the Silver Age – to me, the slicing of Katma signalled we weren’t in that particular Kansas.

    Like

  3. (Still random commenting…)

    Star Labs was not routinely an evil organisation, if it ever was shown as dodgy – you were indeed likely thinking of Project Cadmus. There was also the Sunderland Corporation in Swamp Thing and Firestorm.

    It’s Barbara Randall Kesel these days

    Thor is not a team book, Chad! Asgardians are just supporting cast.

    Like

Leave a Reply

